Computational Arithmetic Geometry

Date: June 18 - 20, 2003.
Location: Carslaw Lecture Theatre 373,
Camperdown Campus,
University of Sydney, Australia
Description: An informal workshop, concentrating on computational arithmetic geometry and related topics. It is intended to have a relaxed schedule of talks, with ample time and opportunity for informal discussion.
Programme: A preliminary programme is now available. There is also a list of abstracts.

On Friday, June 20, 2pm, the workshop features the Mahler Lecture 2003:

Galois Theory and Primality Testing
Hendrik Lenstra Jr. (AustMS Kurt Mahler Lecturer 2003)
Registration: Registration is required for participants and is free. To register, contact the organizer, preferably by email.
Web page:
Poster: A poster is available in A4 format, both in postscript and in PDF format. Feel free to download and print the poster and put it on the notice board of your department.
Organizer: Nils Bruin
School of Mathematics
University of Sydney
Sydney NSW 2006

telephone: +61 (2) 9351 4010
fax: +61 (2) 9351 4534

Scientific contributions: Participants are invited to contribute talks. I will try to accommodate all contributions, but in case of overwhelming response, I may have to make a selection. If you want to contribute a talk, please supply me with Title and Abstract.
Travel: The main Campus of the University of Sydney is located 15km north of Sydney-Airport (Kingsford-Smith). The conference site can be reached by taxi (about AUD 20 -25 currently), by bus and by train. Instructions for finding the Carslaw building are available via the School Homepage. A large Campus Map is also available.
Accommodation: The organization does not mediate in arranging for accommodation, but there is a list of nearby accommodations.
Funding: Funds are kindly provided by MAGMA and the Computational Algebra Group, School of Mathematics, University of Sydney. A very limited amount of financial support is available towards travel and accommodation costs. This is primarily intended for graduate students and post-docs within Australia. Ask the organizer for more information.

Participants: Geoff Bailey
Michael Bush
William Chen
Claus Fieker
Joost van Hamel
Joseph Hammer
Bill Hart
Joachim Hempel
David Hunt
Martine Girard
David Kohel
Hendrik Lenstra Jr.
Paul Leopardi
Gerry Myerson
Adrian Nelson
Christopher Ormerod
Loh Philip
Alf van der Poorten
Victor Scharaschkin
Gregory Sherman
Ben Smith
William Stein
Alexa van der Waall
Paul van Wamelen
Mark Watkins